## FLORIDA PAROLE COMMISSION

4070 Esplanade Way, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2450

TENA M. PATE Commissioner/Chair

MONICA DAVID Commissioner/Vice-Chair

BERNARD R. COHEN, SR. Commissioner/Secretary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**CONTACT: Jane Tillman**850-921-2816
850-559-3491 cell

## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

## GOVERNOR AND CABINET SELECT COONROD FOR PAROLE COMMISSION SLOT

TALLAHASSEE – June 26 - Florida Parole Commission Chair **Tena M. Pate** announced today the appointment of **Melinda Nisi Coonrod** of Tallahassee as the newest member of the three-member panel. Governor Rick Scott and members of the Florida Cabinet selected Coonrod during today's Cabinet meeting to serve as Parole Commissioner for a six-year term beginning July 1, 2012, and expiring June 30, 2018. Chair Pate stated that she believes Coonrod's years of experience in the criminal justice field as a state prosecutor and an adjunct professor of law will allow her to "naturally transition to being a Parole Commissioner."

Commissioner-Appointee Coonrod most recently served for three-and-a-half years as an Attorney and Administrative Hearing Officer for the Florida Department of Agriculture's Division of Licensing. Prior to that, Ms. Coonrod held positions as an Adjunct Professor at Florida State University, teaching law to criminal justice students and as an Assistant State Attorney for the Second Judicial Circuit, serving as the lead prosecutor in over 57 jury trials, as well as 30 non-jury trials.

Ms. Coonrod received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business and Real Estate in 1987 from Florida State University. In 1991, she received her Law Degree from the Shephard Broad Law Center, Nova University, Fort Lauderdale, where she was a member of the Moot Court Society, Nova Law Review, and President of Phi Delta Phi honorary legal fraternity. She is also a member of the Florida Bar and American Bar Associations, the Florida Council on Crime and Delinquency, and an Honorary Member of the Florida Sheriffs Association.

In other Parole Commission actions made by the Governor and Cabinet on Tuesday, Parole Commission Chair Tena M. Pate was reappointed to serve a second two-year term as Chair and agency head and Commissioner Bernard R. Cohen, Sr., was selected to serve a two-year term as Vice Chair.