

FLORIDA COMMISSION ON OFFENDER REVIEW

4070 Esplanade Way, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2450

MELINDA N. COONROD Commissioner/Chair

RICHARD D. DAVISON

Commissioner/Vice-Chair

VACANT Commissioner/Secretary



Minutes

Parole Qualifications Committee Meeting Florida Bar Meeting Room, Marriott Hotel 4200 George J. Bean Parkway, Suite 2580 Tampa, Florida 33607 April 14, 2016

The Parole Qualifications Committee (PQC) Chair, State Attorney Willie Meggs, called the meeting to order at 9:55 am. The following individuals were identified as present:

State Attorney Willie Meggs - PQC Chair

State Attorney Mark Ober – PQC Member

Sherriff Susan Benton - PQC Member

State Attorney Jerry Hill – PQC Member

Sarah Rumph - Commission on Offender Review, General Counsel

Jennifer Boswell - Commission on Offender Review, Human Resources Administrator

Christie Utt - Department of Agriculture, Cabinet Aide

Purpose of Meeting

To interview candidates for the Commissioner vacancy.

Discussion

- 1. The present committee members discussed how to proceed in the absence of Sheriff David Shoar. Jerry Hill motioned to proceed with the quorum. Mark Ober seconded the motion, there were no objections from the other committee members. The vote was unanimous with the decision to proceed with the meeting as scheduled, including making the recommendations without David Shoar's input.
- 2. Jerry Hill moved to approve minutes from previous meeting. Susan Benton seconded, approved without objection.
- 3. The candidates were interviewed in the following order:

Mark Hiers 10:00 am Cynthia Swier 10:35 am Shana Lasseter 11:33 am David Wyant 1:50 pm Lori VanCamp 2:20 pm 4. Committee members discussed nominations to present to the Governor and Cabinet for consideration and voted as follows:

Interview Candidates		Committee Members				
Last Name	First Name	Meggs	Ober	Benton	Hill	Total Votes
Hiers	Mark	/		1		2
VanCamp	Lori		1	1	1	3
Swier	Cynthia	1	1		1	3
Lasseter	Shana					0
Wyant	David	1	1	1	/	4

5. The votes determined that the top three candidates to be:

David Wyant

Lori VanCamp

Cynthia Swier

Jerry Hill motioned that these three names submitted for consideration. Susan Benton seconded, approved without objection.

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 pm.

Prepared and Submitted by:

Jennifer Boswell

Human Resources Administrator

4/15/16 Date